Home Page

Meet our Governors

What are Governors?

School governors provide strategic leadership and accountability in schools. They appoint the headteacher and deputy headteacher and are responsible for their performance management. Governors hold the main responsibility for finance in schools, and it is governors who work with the headteacher to make the tough decisions about balancing resources.


Each individual governor is a member of the governing board. Individual governors may not act independently of the rest of the governing board and decisions are the joint responsibility of the governing board.


The role of the governing board is a strategic one with three key functions:

  • Overseeing the financial performance of the school and making sure its money is well spent.
  • Holding the headteacher to account for the educational performance of the school and its pupils
  • Ensuring clarity of vision, ethos and strategic direction

Governors set the aims and objectives for the school. They set the policies and targets for achieving those aims and objectives. They monitor and evaluate the progress the school is making and act as a source of challenge and support to the headteacher. The headteacher is responsible for the internal organisation, management and control of the school and the implementation of the strategic framework established by the governing board.


The Governing Board is also responsible for ensuring that the school meets the required standards for Church Schools, assessed by the Statutory Inspection of Anglican and Methodist Schools.


The Governing Board

At Hopton Church of England Primary Academy, the members of the Governing Board are:


Picture 1

Emma Plane - Chair of Governors and Foundation Governor

Governor appointed by Diocesan Board of Education. Term of office until 31/08/2020. Business interests: Business Manager and Clerk to the Governors at another school. Emma has 1 child in school.

Contact email address: 

Picture 1

Christabelle Whiteley-Tye - Headteacher Governor

Headteacher of the school. Business interests: Headteacher of the school. 

Picture 1

John Waters - Local Authority Governor

Governor appointed by Local Authority. No business interests.

Picture 1

Sandra Smith - Foundation Governor

Governor appointed by the Bishop. Term of office until 31/12/2020. No business interests. 

Picture 1

Chris Grogan - Parent Governor

Elected Parent Governor. No business interests. Chris has two children in school. 

Picture 1

Richard Mason-Ray - Appointed Governor

Resource Committee. No business interests. Richard has one child in school. 

Picture 1

Justine Petersen - Clerk to the Governors

The Full Governing Board meets once per half term. The meeting dates for 2018/19 were:


3rd December 2018

11th February 2019

1st April 2019

20th May 2019

15th July 2019


Once formally accepted, the minutes from these meetings will be published below.

The attendance records for governors can also be found below.


Governor Committees and Responsibilities


Some work of the Governing Board is delegated to our committees; Resources and Curriculum & Standards. These committees meet half termly and report to the full Governing Board. The Terms of Reference for each committee can be found below.


School Improvement Board

Chair: John Waters

Emma Plane

Christabelle Whiteley-Tye



Resources Committee

Chair: Chris Grogan

John Waters

Christabelle Whiteley-Tye



Curriculum & Standards Committee

Chair: Emma Plane

Diane Moore

Sandra Smith

Christabelle Whiteley-Tye


Individual Governor Responsibilities


Individual Governors take responsibility for monitoring important areas within the school on behalf of the governing board.



Coming Soon!



Head teachers Performance Management Panel: 

John Waters and Sandra Smith



Contact the Governors


Governors actively seek parents’ views throughout the year through parent questionnaires. In addition to this, any parent can consult the Governors, or put forward ideas for consideration at any time. Please contact us via the school office or directly by email at

Governance Statements

Governor Code of Conduct